National University of Ireland Galway


The National University of Ireland Galway has over 165 years’ experience of providing university education. With over 17,000 students and more than 2,400 staff, NUI Galway has a distinguished reputation for teaching and research excellence. NUI Galway has earned national and international recognition as a research-led university with a commitment to top-quality teaching. Research at NUI Galway is forward-thinking and global in scale. Today NUI Galway are leading the field in a wide range of areas including stem cell and gene therapy research, human rights law, environmental change, and developing the next generation of internet technology.

Dublin City University


Dublin City University is a young university, situated on an 85 acre campus three miles north of the River Liffey in the city centre. Dublin City University was initially set up to fulfil the national requirement for a highly-trained workforce with skills in the areas of business, science and electronics, computer technology, communications and languages and as an agent for change in its local community. The first students came through the door in 1980 and the university is now recognised nationally and internationally as a centre of academic excellence.

Dublin Institute of Technology


With a history stretching back over one hundred and twenty years, Dublin Institute of Technology has been recognised as a pioneer in technological higher education. The Institute’s alumni have played important roles in technical and scientific innovation, economic and social development and culture and education both in Ireland and internationally. DIT is one of the largest Higher Education Institutes (HEIs) in Ireland, with over 14,000 full-time equivalent students. The Institute enjoys a diverse student base, where students pursue a wide range of apprenticeship, ordinary degree, honours degree, master’s and doctoral programmes.

National Institute for Bioprocessing Research and Training


The National Institute for Bioprocessing Research and Training (NIBRT) is a global centre of excellence for training and research in bioprocessing. NIBRT’s mission is to support the bioprocessing industry by providing a unique learning experience for bioprocessing trainees, and at the same time undertake leading edge research in key areas of bioprocessing in collaboration with industry. NIBRT is located in a new, world class facility in Dublin, Ireland. This facility is purpose built to closely replicate a modern bioprocessing plant with state of the art equipment.

Maynooth University


Maynooth University is today a university of international standing, renowned for the quality and value of its research and scholarship, for its dedication to excellent teaching, and for providing an outstanding learning environment for its students. The University is home to outstanding academics who have established a strong reputation for research and teaching excellence and hasover 8,000 students from more than 20 countries. NUI Maynooth has important research strengths in spatial analysis and geocomputation; applied mathematics and applied ICT; immunology and chemical biology; historical and cultural traditions, and business innovation. The University looks outward, engaging with industry and the community to better serve students, the region and the country.

Royal College of Surgeons Ireland


Founded in 1784, RCSI is a not-for-profit, largely self-funding academic institution providing education and training in the health sciences in Ireland, Bahrain, Dubai and Malaysia. With over 3,700 students, RCSI operates the largest medical school in Ireland and provides undergraduate courses in Pharmacy and Physiotherapy. The RCSI Research Institute facilitates translational research and training programmes, commercialises intellectual property arising from its research and develops collaborative links with industry, educational and research institutions globally so that advances in medical science are translated as quickly as possible into patient treatments.

Trinity College Dublin


Trinity College Dublin was founded in 1592 with a university charter from Queen Elizabeth I and by the grant of a site by Dublin Corporation. Trinity has expanded over the centuries to become a modern university with some 15,600 students and 3,700 staff. It is now one of the great universities of the world, widely recognized for the high quality of its graduates, the international standing of its research and scholarship, and the value it places on contributing to Irish society and the wider world.

University College Cork


University College Cork (UCC), was established in 1845 as one of three Queen’s Colleges – at Cork, Galway and Belfast. Situated in Ireland’s second city, UCC is the comprehensive globally-oriented research-led university of the south of Ireland providing the full range of disciplines and playing a key role in the development of Ireland’s knowledge-based society. As Ireland’s first five-star university, UCC boasts a vibrant, modern, environmentally-sustainable campus and a top-ranked student experience, second to none in Ireland. UCC is now ranked in the top 2% of universities worldwide based on the quality of our research output and peer esteem.

University College Dublin


University College Dublin is one of Europe’s leading research-intensive universities. At UCD undergraduate education, master’s and PhD training, research, innovation and community engagement form a dynamic spectrum of activity. Today UCD is Ireland’s largest and most diverse university with over 30,000 students, drawn from approximately 124 countries. At the heart of UCD’s research strategy is the ambition to address the challenges that will shape Ireland’s future and its role in the wider world. National priorities include agri-food, energy, environment, health and ICT, all of which are priority research themes in UCD. In addition, UCD has Ireland’s most diverse and most developed capacity in the humanities and social sciences.

University of Limerick


The University of Limerick (UL) was established in 1972 as the National Institute for Higher Education, Limerick and classified as the University of Limerick in 1989. The University of Limerick is an independent, internationally focused university with over 13,000 students and 1,400 staff. It is a young, energetic and enterprising university with a proud record of innovation in education and excellence in research and scholarship. Its mission is to promote and advance learning and knowledge through teaching, research and scholarship in an environment which encourages innovation and upholds the principles of free enquiry and expression. Particular attention is paid to the generation of knowledge which is relevant to the needs of Ireland’s continuing socio-economic development.

Waterford Institute of Technology


Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) is a university-level institution in the South-East of Ireland with over 10,000 students and 1,000 staff. WIT is the major provider of higher education in the South East region of Ireland and one of the largest IOT’s in Ireland. The Institute’s range and scope reflect the changing needs of the southeast as well as the country as a whole. The range of academic programmes is exceptionally extensive, ranging from Higher Certificate right through to post-doctoral research and covering the Humanities, Health and Nursing, Science and Informatics, Engineering and Architecture, Business and Education.